Chapter 22

One parameter subgroups

There is another characterization of T_eG for a Lie group G as the set of its one parameter subgroups, which we will now define. This is also called the "infinitesimal" description of a Lie group, and what Lie called an infinitesimal group.

• A one parameter subgroup of a Lie group G is a smooth homomorphism from the additive group of real numbers to G, γ : $(\mathbb{R}, +) \to G$. Then $\gamma : \mathbb{R} \to G$ is a curve such that $\gamma(s + t) = \gamma(s)\gamma(t), \gamma(0) = e$, and $\gamma(-t) = \gamma(t)^{-1}$.

Also, since this is a homomorphism, the one parameter subgroup is Abelian.

Example: For $G = (\mathbb{R} \setminus \{0\}, \times)$ the multiplicative group of nonzero real numbers, $\gamma(t) = e^t$ is a 1-p subgroup.

Example:
$$G = U(1)$$
, $\gamma(t) = e^{it}$.
Example: $G = SU(2)$, $\gamma(t) = \begin{pmatrix} \cos t \sin t \\ -\sin t \cos t \end{pmatrix}$.
Example: $G = GL(3, \mathbb{R})$, $\gamma(t) = \begin{pmatrix} \cos t \sin t & 0 \\ -\sin t \cos t & 0 \\ 0 & 0 & e^t \end{pmatrix}$.

The relation between 1-p subgroups and and T_eG is given by the **Theorem:** The map $\gamma \mapsto \dot{\gamma}(0) = \dot{\gamma}|_e$ defines a 1-1 correspondence between 1-p subgroups of G, and T_eG .

Proof: For any $X \in T_e G$ define $L^X = l_{g*}X$ as the corresponding left-invariant vector field. We need to find a smooth homomorphism from \mathbb{R} to G using L^X . This homomorphism is provided by the flow or integral curve of L^X , but let us work this out in more detail.

Denote the integral curve of L^X by $\gamma^X(t)$, i.e.,

$$\gamma^X(0) = L_e^X = X$$

and $\dot{\gamma}^X(t) = L_{\gamma(t)}^X = l_{\gamma(t)*}X$ (22.1)

Since L^X is left-invariant, $l_{g'*}L_g^X = L_{g'g}^X$. Consider the equation

$$\frac{d}{dt}\gamma(t) = L_{\gamma(t)}^X = l_{\gamma(t)*}X \equiv \gamma_* \left(\frac{d}{dt}\right)\Big|_t .$$
(22.2)

Given some τ , replace $\gamma(t)$ by $\gamma(\tau + t)$ to get

$$\gamma(\tau+t) = l_{\gamma(\tau+t)*}X. \qquad (22.3)$$

Remember that $\gamma(t)$ is an element of the group for each t. Now replace $\gamma(t)$ in Eq. (22.2) by $\gamma(\tau)\gamma(t)$ to get

$$\left(\gamma(\tau)\gamma(t)\right)_*\left(\frac{d}{dt}\right) = L^X_{\gamma(\tau)\gamma(t)}$$
 (22.4)

We see that $\gamma(t+\tau)$ and $\gamma(\tau)\gamma(t)$ are both integral curves of L^X , i.e. both satisfy the equation of the integral curve of L^X , and at t = 0both curves are at the point $\gamma(\tau)$. Thus by uniqueness these two are the same curve,

$$\gamma(\tau + t) = \gamma(\tau)\gamma(t), \qquad (22.5)$$

and $t \mapsto \gamma(t)$ is the homomorphism $\mathbb{R} \to G$ that we are looking for.

Thus for each $X \in T_e G$ we find a 1-p subgroup $\gamma(t)$ given by the integral curve of L^X ,

$$\dot{\gamma}(t) = L_{\gamma(t)}^X = l_{\gamma(t)*} X ,$$
 (22.6)

where, as mentioned earlier, $(\dot{\gamma}(0) = X)$.

In a compact connected Lie group G, every element lies on some 1-p subgroup. This is not true in a non-compact G, i.e. there are elements in G which do not lie on a 1-p subgroup. However, an Abelian non-compact group will always have a 1-p subgroup, so this remark applies only to non-Abelian non-compact groups.

For matrix groups, every 1-p subgroup is of the form

$$\gamma(t) = \left\{ e^{tM} \mid M \text{ fixed}, t \in \mathbb{R} \right\}.$$
(22.7)

Let us see why. Suppose $\{\gamma(t)\}$ is a 1-p subgroup of the matrix group. Then $\gamma(t)$ is a matrix for each t, and

$$\gamma(s)\gamma(t) = \gamma(s+t). \qquad (22.8)$$

Differentiate with respect to s and set s = 0. Then

$$\dot{\gamma}(0)\gamma(t) = \dot{\gamma}(t). \qquad (22.9)$$

Write $\dot{\gamma}(0) = M$. Since G is a matrix group, M is a matrix. Then the unique solution for γ is

$$\gamma(t) = e^{tM} \,. \tag{22.10}$$

The properties of M are determined by the properties of the group and vice versa, not every matrix M will generate any group.

The allowed matrices $\{M\}$ for a given group G are the $\{\dot{\gamma}(0)\}$ for all the 1-p subgroups $\gamma(t)$, so these are in fact the tangent vectors at the identity. The allowed matrices $\{M\}$ for a given matrix group G thus form a Lie algebra with the Lie bracket being given by the matrix commutator. This Lie algebra is isomorphic to the Lie algebra of the group G. (We will not a give a proof of this here.)

We can find the Lie algebra of a matrix group by considering elements of the form $\gamma(t) = e^{tM}$ for small t, i.e.,

$$\gamma(t) = \mathbb{I} + tM \tag{22.11}$$

for small t. Conversely, once we are given, or have found, a Lie algebra with basis $\{t_i\}$, we can exponentiate the Lie algebra to find the set of 1-p subgroups

$$\left\{\gamma(a) = \exp a^i t_i\right\} \tag{22.12}$$

• This is the **infinitesimal group**, for compact connected groups this is identical to the Lie group itself. So in such cases, the entire group can be generated by exponentiating the Lie algebra. Non-compact groups cannot be written as the exponential of the Lie algebra in general.

Example: Consider SO(N), the group of $N \times N$ real orthogonal matrices R with $R^{\mathsf{T}}R = \mathbb{I}$, det R = 1. Write $R = \mathbb{I} + A$, then $A^{\mathsf{T}} = -A$, i.e. the Lie algebra is spanned by $N \times N$ real antisymmetric matrices. Let us construct a basis for this algebra.

An $N \times N$ antisymmetric matrix has N(N-1)/2 independent elements. So we define N(N-1)/2 independent antisymmetric matrices, labelled by $\mu, \nu = 1, \dots, N$,

$$M_{\mu\nu} = -M_{\nu\mu} \qquad \mu, \nu \text{ are not matrix indices}$$
$$(M_{\mu\nu})_{\rho\sigma} = (M_{\mu\nu})_{\sigma\rho}, \qquad \rho, \sigma \text{ are matrix indices}.$$
(22.13)

A convenient choice for the basis is given by

$$(M_{\mu\nu})_{\rho\sigma} = \delta_{\mu\rho}\delta_{\nu\sigma} - \delta_{\mu\sigma}\delta_{\nu\rho}. \qquad (22.14)$$

Then the commutators are calculated to be

$$[M_{\mu\nu}, M_{\alpha\beta}] = \delta_{\nu\alpha} M_{\mu\beta} - \delta_{\mu\alpha} M_{\nu\beta} + \delta_{\mu\beta} M_{\nu\alpha} - \delta_{\nu\beta} M_{\mu\alpha} . (22.15)$$

This defines the Lie algebra.

Example: For SU(N), the group of $N \times N$ unitary matrices U with $U^{\dagger}U = \mathbb{I}$, det U = 1, the 1-p subgroups are given by $\gamma(t) = e^{tM}$ with $M^{\dagger} + M = 0$ in the same way as above, and $\det(\mathbb{I} + tM) = 1 \Rightarrow \operatorname{Tr} M = 0$. So the SU(N) Lie algebra consists of traceless antihermitian matrices. Often the basis is multiplied by i to write $\gamma(a) = \exp(ia_jt_j)$, where t_j are now Hermitian matrices, with

$$[t_i, t_j] = i f_{abc} t_c \,. \tag{22.16}$$